ASP.NET Gripe #3

Kevin got me going on this one in the comments to an earlier post. Basically, the editor for ASP.NET has a configuration option that allows you to turn its automatic formatting option on and off.
 
Except it doesn’t.
 
The two settings should be named "Always" and "Whenever I feel Like It".
 
This has only caused me minor problems. Sometimes when I’ve dropped a new element onto a form I switch back to the HTML view only to find my beautifully-indented HTML has now been totally screwed up and reformatted. Also, I’ve been doing HTML as XHTML for a while now, and VS.NET 2003 doesn’t understand this. All my careful <input … /> tags lose the terminating slash; same for <br/> etc etc.
 
Kevin sounds like he’s having even more problems. This is the sort of thing that drives programmers mad!
 
Microsoft: if people have turned off the auto format option, that means you don’t change their code under any circumstances! Understand?!
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ASP.NET Gripe #3

  1. Kevin says:

    Yes – the only way to take control it to give up on the designer, and open files inside text mode without any interpretation (which I have set as my default). But you lose all the designer advantages….BTW – I am told there IS a way of taking control of how the xml is parsed by the xslt in 2.0, one of the overloaded methods where you pass in your own rules…. A lot of work just to get it to do what it should do in the firs place…

Leave a Reply

