Going Down The Tubes

The comment from i_have_Bouncebackability to my first post (I can’t believe somebody’s already reading this!) reminded me of my favourite driver announcement on the tube.

I’d just got on a very crowded Central line train at Mile End and the driver announced: "I regret to inform you that we have a normal Central line service this morning". Caused much laughter.

I got a good laugh from my fellow passengers whilst waiting for the Central Line at Oxford Circus once. A voice came over the tannoy telling us that there was a good service running to all Central Line destinations that morning. My comment of "That’s a f***ing matter of opinion" went down rather well.

Another time was on the Northern Line when we were doing the stuck-in-the-tunnel-for-five-minutes-before-moving-ten-yards thing that it does so well. I started improvising a poem called "How I Love The Northern Line", with fellow passengers chipping in lines from time to time. The only verse I can remember now is:

Oh how I love the Northern Line,
Its trains so swift and sure.
It takes me out at 8 am
Then back at half-past four.

Of course, the best collection of tube stories is over at Going Underground.

This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Going Down The Tubes

  1. Louisa says:

    I didnt even know there was an original. I\’m assuming its better than the new one? I\’ve not even seen casablanca before :/

Leave a Reply

